Ecuadorian food

Since food is an important part of culture (and I enjoy food), I think it is work devoting a post to Ecuadorian food. When I mention Ecuadorian food right now, I am referring to the food of the sierra (mountain highlands) where Quito is located. The food at the coast is very different. 

In my house, I eat three meals: breakfast, lunch and dinner. Breakfast is served after I wake up. It usually consists of apple and banana in yogurt, a pastry with cheese, cream cheese or jam, and a cup of hot chocolate. Lunch is usually served on the slightly later side, often times around 2 PM. Dinner is also served late at around 8 PM. Lunch is considered the big meal of the day usually. However, my lunches and dinners have been about the same size. A traditional meal consists of a soup to start and then a main plate with a little bit of meat (usually some kind of stew), rice and/or potatoes, and fruit juice. It is very common to have two starches on the same plate. 

Many people would believe that Ecuadorian food would be spicy, like Mexican food. This is definitely not the case! Salt is the spice of Ecuadorian food. As served, the food is usually seasoned well to the high end of American standards. Most of the time I see my host sisters adding more salt to the food. Today I had pasta at the school cafeteria, and it was tasty but very salty.

My favorite aspect of the cuisine would have to be the soups. There are so many different kinds. My favorite soup so far had lots of different kinds of beans, potatoes, and corn. Most of the ingredients used in the food wouldn’t be considered “exotic,” but I did eat some tripe (cow’s stomach) and am planning on trying Cuye (guinea pig) at some point. 

My brief summary of the Ecuadorian food I have sampled would say this: Ecuadorian food is tasty but simple and not a global cuisine like Italian, Mexican or Thai food. 

The soup course, consisting of a creamy asparagus soup today. Juice of the day is passion fruit.

The soup course, consisting of a creamy asparagus soup today. Juice of the day is passion fruit.

This is what a main plate looks like. Today there was a piece of stewed chicken with potatoes and rice.

This is what a main plate looks like. Today there was a piece of stewed chicken with potatoes and rice.

Leave a Reply

